demoralized nation :(

I am starting to have mixed emotions towards the hostage taking incident last night. A demoralized police officer, trying to highlight claimed injustice. The evident lack of technological capacity of our Philippine National Police. There is the death of 8 HK nationals. There is the loss of income in the tourism industry because of the recent black outbound from HK to Philippines. And now there is news that Filipino migrant workers are starting to experience mistreatment from HK employers because they are Filipino.

I felt the frustration of dismissed (and now demised) Sr. Insp. Mendoza. The frustrations of trying to be true and honest in a corruptible society. Trying to look for justice in being falsely accused of a crime framed by criminals. He resorted into a very disappointing recourse. I don’t know if its valiance or stupidity.

The lack of technological capacity of the Philippine National Police to address incidents such as this is quite embarrassing. It was shown in national television and streamed in YouTube. I don’t know if it’s really the lack of technology or the sheer incompetence of the police force in general.

I feel for the family of  those who died during this seemingly senseless hijacking incident. To bluntly say, they were in the wrong place at the wrong time. I mean I don’t believe that Sr. Insp. Mendoza intended to hostage that particular bus. And I don’t believe that Gods run amok and chose them to journey in this gloomy fate. It’s just futile.

A Malaysian friend told me that his HK buddies are really angry with what happened. Well, it’s difficult to comfort a grieved nation. I would probably feel the same way too. But it was quite disappointing to hear that there is a black outbound from Hong Kong to Philippines. Flights were canceled and potential tourists are now discouraged to visit the country.

Can I just say that not all of us are terrorists. And not all of us have the tendency to hijacked and kidnapped foreign nationals. I am sure that Philippines is actually one of the safest place on Earth. Maybe I’m biased but shit happens but not all the time. And shit does not only happen in the Philippines. It happens everywhere.

I know. I know. It’s a precautionary measure to make sure that your citizens are all well protected. I commend you on that point. But can you make sure that our Filipino migrants are safe too? There are news going around that some Filipino domestic workers started to experience mistreatment (not maltreatment) from HK employers. I know they’re angry, I’m angry too but there’s no point diverting violence towards innocent people. It just doesn’t make sense. Your HK nationals were innocent so as our migrant workers! Are we doing justice for those who died by hurting those who didn’t perpetuate the incident? I don’t think so.

Anyway, I’m confused. I don’t know whether to feel angry, agitated, depressed or frustrated. I just know that what happened yesterday was completely wrong. Innocent people don’t deserve to die especially not under such circumstances. The Philippine nation doesn’t deserve another stereotype. HK-Philippine international relation should not suffer. And Filipino migrants should not be placed in the middle of all this problems (they have much problems of their own). But is it wrong to look for justice in what you believe in, whether armed or unarmed? I don’t know.

I collated some cents worth from friends:

“This isn’t just about lack of training and equipment or about the senseless death of innocent victims or the frustration of a man who feels falsely accused. This is also about how we make our system of government work.” -Golda

Let us all pray for the survivors, the departed, and their families. This is a truly sad day for everyone. But please don’t put your country down. Capt. Mendoza does not and should not define us as a nation. Let’s pray for a better Philippines.” – Rita

“I think that there’s a lot of Filipinos who do move and struggle to make this nation a better, stronger nation. We shouldn’t forget that. And if there is anything to be ashamed of in this story, I am ashamed that conditions in the Philippi…nes have left many Filipinos desperate, enough to eat papag, enough to risk death to find work, enough to leave their families so that they can simply survive. If there is anything to be ashamed of in this story, it is that the only solution the government has for poverty and high unemployment is to have its people leave the country for work abroad. And people who can’t afford to be a domestic worker / caregiver / entertainer / engineer / nurse / teacher abroad are left to crime or to starve slowly, day by day.” – Mel

Leave a Reply

